Pathways to Collaboration

Squamish Nation – The District of Squamish

Pathway Overview

The District of Squamish is located on the unceded territory of the Squamish Nation, whose territory stretches from North Vancouver to Gibson’s Landing to the north area of Howe Sound. Squamish Nation has seven reserves within the District of Squamish, and is a significant land owner within the District, with lands poised for economic development purposes and future member housing. In 2007, the District of Squamish and Squamish Nation formalized their commitments to a spirit of co-operation and government-to-government relationship by signing a Co-operation Protocol agreement. Based on the principles of co-operation outlined in the agreement, the Nation and the District established a working relationship that has allowed them to collaborate on several fronts. Today, the fruits of this collaborative relationship can be seen in an ongoing initiative to establish a jointly administered community forest.

Read the Report:
Read the Pathways to Collaboration Report for Squamish First Nation and the District of Squamish (PDF)