Regional Economic Development Trusts

The regional economic development trusts were established through legislation to serve their respective regional areas as follows:
– Northern Development Initiative Trust
– Island Coastal Economic Development Trust
– Southern Interior Development Initiative Trust
– Columbia Basin Trust

These Trusts were capitalized with initial funding and mandated to stimulate economic development in the targeted sectors of forestry, transportation, tourism, mining, energy, economic development, agriculture, and small business. They provide a variety of services and supports to communities and businesses to foster economic development.

Over time, each Trust has developed its own distinct business model for distributing funds to meet community needs. You can learn more about each Trust in the links found on this page. These trusts are also listed individually in the Resources found on this website.